Press "Enter" to skip to content

Is it time to get involved? Candidacy filing for many political offices is this week

The week from Monday, May 16th to Friday, May 20th, is the time this year for candidates to file for political offices scheduled to appear on the November 2022 General Election ballots in Whatcom County.

Candidates are encouraged to file their Declaration of Candidacy online.  Online filing begins at 9am on Monday, May 16th, and closes at 4pm on Friday, May 20th. 

Candidates running for re-election or for the first time are encouraged to review the Candidate Filing Guide. The guide contains information candidates need to know and requirements and regulations that can change from year to year.

In-person filing opens May 16th at 8:30am and ends May 20th at 4:30pm. Candidates will be directed to a computer set up in our office.

Click for more information

Click for more information

A candidate may mail their Declaration of Candidacy form accompanied by the filing fee to the Whatcom County Auditor’s Office, Election Division, 311 Grand Ave., Suite 103, Bellingham, WA 98225. Filings will be received by mail beginning May 2nd but will not be processed until the official filing week.

The deadline for filings being received is 4:30pm on May 20th. Any filing received before May 2nd or after the deadline will be rejected and returned to the candidate.

The following offices are open for election this year. Incumbents listed may or may not choose to run for reelection.

DistrictOfficeTermIncumbentFiling Fee
StatewideUS Senator6-year regular term, partisanPatty Murray$1,740.00
Island, San Juan, Skagit, Snohomish, Whatcom Counties – Congressional District 2US Representative2-year regular term, partisanRick Larsen$1,740.00
StatewideSecretary of State2-year unexpired term, partisanSteve Hobbs$1,346.40
San Juan, Skagit, Whatcom Counties – District 40State Representative Pos. 12-year regular term, partisanDebra Lekanoff$568.81
San Juan, Skagit, Whatcom Counties – District 40State Representative Pos. 22-year regular term, partisanAlex Ramel$568.81
Whatcom County – District 42State Senator4-year short & full term, partisanSimon Sefzik$568.81
Whatcom County – District 42State Representative Pos. 12-year regular term, partisanAlicia Rule$568.81
Whatcom County – District 42State Representative Pos. 22-year regular term, partisanSharon Shewmake$568.81
State Supreme CourtJustice Position 16-year regular term, nonpartisanMary I. Yu$2,203.20
State Supreme CourtJustice Position 56-year regular term, nonpartisanBarbara Madsen$2,203.20
State Supreme CourtJustice Position 66-year regular term, nonpartisanG. Helen Whitener$2,203.20
Whatcom CountyProsecuting Attorney4-year regular term, nonpartisanEric Richey$1,996.75
Whatcom CountyDistrict Court Judge Position 14-year short & full term, nonpartisanAngela Anderson$1,901.20
Whatcom CountyDistrict Court Judge Position 24-year regular term, nonpartisanMatthew Elich$1,901.20
Whatcom Public Utility District #1Commissioner Dist. 56-year regular term, nonpartisanMike Murphy$308.04
Source: Washington Office of the Secretary of State

According to Washington State law, “The name of a candidate for an office shall not appear on a ballot for that office unless … the candidate is, at the time the candidate’s declaration of candidacy is filed, properly registered to vote in the geographic area represented by the office.” Each office may include additional eligibility requirements for candidates.

For additional information, contact County Auditor Diana Bradrick at (360) 778-5105.

My custom footer text