Press "Enter" to skip to content

Here is who filed for political positions open for election this year

During last week, May 16th to Friday, May 20th, candidates could file for political positions scheduled to appear on the November 2022 General Election ballots in Whatcom County. And they had until 4:30pm today, Monday, May 23rd, to withdraw.

The following positions are open for election this year. Incumbents listed (denoted with “i”) have chosen to run for reelection.

StatewideUS Senator6-year regular term, partisanHenry Clay Dennison
Mohammad Hassan Said
John Guenther
Tiffany Smiley
Dan Phan Doan
Dr Pano Churchill
Dave Saulibio
Sam Cusmir
Bill Hirt
Jon Butler
Bryan Solstin
Martin D. Hash
Patty Murray (i)
Thor Amundson
Charlie (Chuck) Jackson
Naz Paul
Ravin Pierre
Leon Lawson
Island, San Juan, Skagit, Snohomish,
Whatcom Counties – Congressional District 2
US Representative2-year regular term, partisanCody Hart
Dan Matthews
Doug “Yoshe” Revelle
Bill Wheeler
Jon Welch
Brandon Lee Stalnaker
Jason Call
Leif Johnson
Carrie R. Kennedy
Rick Larsen (i)
StatewideSecretary of State2-year unexpired term, partisanBob Hagglund
Kurtis Engle
Marquez Tiggs
Tamborine Borrelli
Steve Hobbs (i)
Keith L. Wagoner
Mark Miloscia
Julie Anderson
San Juan, Skagit, Whatcom Counties – District 40State Representative Pos. 12-year regular term, partisanDebra Lekanoff (i)
San Juan, Skagit, Whatcom Counties – District 40State Representative Pos. 22-year regular term, partisanAlex Ramel (i)
Trevor Smith
Whatcom County – District 42State Senator4-year short & full term, partisanSharon Shewmake
Ben Elenbaas
Simon Sefzik (i)
Whatcom County – District 42State Representative Pos. 12-year regular term, partisanAlicia Rule (i)
Kamal Bhachu
Tawsha (Dykstra) Thompson
Whatcom County – District 42State Representative Pos. 22-year regular term, partisanKyle Christensen
Joe Timmons
Richard May
Dan Johnson
State Supreme CourtJustice Position 16-year regular term, nonpartisanMary I. Yu (i)
State Supreme CourtJustice Position 56-year regular term, nonpartisanBarbara Madsen (i)
State Supreme CourtJustice Position 66-year regular term, nonpartisanG. Helen Whitener (i)
Whatcom CountyProsecuting Attorney4-year regular term, nonpartisanEric Richey (i)
Whatcom CountyDistrict Court Judge Position 14-year short & full term, nonpartisanAngela Anderson (i)
Whatcom CountyDistrict Court Judge Position 24-year regular term, nonpartisanJonathan Rands
Gordon M. Jenkins
David Nelson
Whatcom Public Utility District #1Commissioner Dist. 56-year regular term, nonpartisanJaime Arnett
Eric Davidson
Source: Washington Office of the Secretary of State

Those positions with 3 or more candidates will appear on the August 2nd, 2022, Washington State Primary Election ballots. The top 2 candidates with the most votes in the Primary Election will advance to the 2022 General Election on November 8th.

For additional information, contact County Auditor Diana Bradrick at (360) 778-5105.

My custom footer text