Press "Enter" to skip to content

Daylight Saving Time ends Sunday

Daylight Saving Time (DST) ends Sunday, November 6th, (the first Sunday in November) at 2am when clocks are to be turned backward 1 hour. This will result in an earlier sunrises in the morning and earlier sunsets in the evening.

According to, Washington state voters approved an initiative to implement DST in 1960 (52% in favor) with clocks being moved forward an hour the last Sunday of April and back an hour the last Sunday of September. It has since been adjusted to between the second Sunday of March and the first Sunday of November as it became a standard (known as the Uniform Time Act) for the US in 1966 as a means of conserving energy.

DST currently remains a Washington state law.

Washington state lawmakers made attempts in 2015, 2017 and again in 2019 to introduce bills to exempt Washington from DST. But those efforts have failed to get enough legislative support to bring the question to the voters to decide. Instead, in 2019, state law was revised to automatically approve adopting DST year-round in the event federal law is changed to allow it.

Currently, the Uniform Time Act prohibits states from observing daylight saving time year-round but they are allowed to observe standard time year-round. Arizona (with the exception of the Navajo Nation), Hawaii and all US territories currently observe standard time year-round.

My custom footer text