Press "Enter" to skip to content

County Council appoints 42nd District State Senator replacement

WHATCOM COUNTY, Wash. — Simon Sefzik was elected by the Whatcom County Council during a special meeting today, Tuesday, January 11th, and sworn in as the 42nd District State Senator. He replaces the late State Senator Doug Ericksen, who passed away in December.

After an initial delay, the County Council met today to select from 3 candidates chosen by the Whatcom County Republican Party for the Council to consider.

The Councilmembers voted 4 to 2 in favor of appointing Sefzik with Tyler Byrd and Kathy Kershner voting for Whatcom County Councilmember Ben Elenbaas.

Sefzik will assume the responsibilities of the office immediately inasmuch as the 2022 Washington State legislative session convened yesterday and he is expected to serve until a successor can be elected at the next general election.

One Comment

  1. Dianne Smith January 11, 2022

    Glad to hear of the selection. The council did their job with great care!

Comments are closed.

My custom footer text